IFM-SEI Congress took place in Manchester

Published: 12 Jun 2013, 16:42 | Author: Sabine Troitzsch


The Congress of the International Falcon Movement – Socialist Educational International takes place every three years and is our highest decision making body. Around 80 delegates agreed on a new constitution, discussed the work plan for the next three years and elected a new leadership. This year's congress was perfectly hosted by Woodcraft Folk and the Co-operative Group.

Congress 2013

We welcomed three organisations as new members of IFM-SEI: Integridad Absoluta, Chile; Fenix, Slovakia and Pioneers of Mali. The Ram Manohar Lohia International Trust from India successfully became a candidate organisation.

Our statutes and constitutional changes have been lively discussed on many regional and global meetings during the last years. Most of the proposed amendments have now been adopted. We ensured a better regional balance through increasing the number of Presidium members from all regions to two. The congress also agreed on a women’s and an age quota in the Presidium to better live our own values. Finally, we simplified the membership categories (we now only have member and candidate organisations) and increased the number of votes of the smallest organisations. The new Presidium, Ali and Eko missing We discussed, further developed and adopted an ambitious strategy and work plan for the next three years. It covers the fields of child participation, co-operation and internationalism, equality and inclusion, peace and conflict and group work.

Good news also about our camps. The congress adopted a resolution that welcomes every international camp of member organisations as a great opportunity for children to build children’s re­publics and to span the world with friendship. Since international camps are a core activity that unites IFM-SEI members and our work, they can from now on all be called IFM Camps! The next big global IFM-SEI camp will take place in 2016 in Germany, hosted by SJD-Die Falken.

The congress elected a new leadership. The new Presidium consists of Christine Sudbrock as Secretary General, Ana Maria Almario (ACACIA) as President and Diye Diallo (Action Enfance), Elvis Wepngong (OGCEYOD), Eko Manurung (KKSP), Ali Hlayel (Independence Youth Union), Liana Meirom (Hashomer Hatzair), Sylvia Siqueira Campos (Mirim), Javier Diaz Almendarez (Mentes en Accion), Marc Cases (ESPLAC) and Carly Walker-Dawson (Woodcraft Folk) as Presidium members. Members of the Control Commission for the next three years are Kaisu Kotirinta (Nuorten Kotkien Keskuslitto), Simon Walter (Kinderfreunde/ Rote Falken Austria) and Tim Schrock (SJD-Die Falken)

Saying good-bye to Tamsin and Tim as outgoing Secretary General and President and to the former members of the Presidium Birute, Jiri, Edan and Eni was a very emotional moment. We would like to thank everybody once more for their commitment and hard work for IFM-SEI! You have shaped an exciting period of change and development in our movement and your work in the last three years had been more international than ever before with all the global camps and educational activities.